Requirements for Becoming a REALTOR® Agent or Broker
Entry into the real estate profession takes preparation. As with other professions, licensing is required. Licensing requirements vary across the nation but all states require prospective salespeople and brokers to pass written examinations. Questions generally cover the fundamentals of real estate transactions and laws affecting the sale and rental of real estate.
In Rhode Island, it is required to take a 45-hour pre-licensing education course. Pre-license courses are intended to provide the first step towards professionalism in real estate. These courses are an investment that will give participants a lifetime return.
The Rhode Island Association of REALTORS has the state’s largest real estate school and offers a 45-hour course designed to successfully prepare an individual to take the Rhode Island Real Estate Salesperson’s examination. The course is offered in the mornings from 9am – 12pm, in the afternoons from 1pm – 4pm or in the evenings from 6 pm – 9 pm. Each pre-license class meets for 6 hours per week on either Mon./Wed. or Tue./Thurs. and is complete in 7.5 weeks or 15 sessions. Classes are scheduled on an ongoing basis. Each class is taught by well qualified instructors who are professionals in real estate and/or law.
In order to sit for the Broker’s Examination, you must have either been an active salesperson for at least two years or obtain 90 hours of education approved by the Department of Business Regulation. Classes in Lead Paint and the Law of Agency are also required for the Broker license.
The Broker’s Pre-License Course is designed to successfully prepare an individual to take the Rhode Island Real Estate Broker’s Examination. This course reviews not only areas covered in the Salesperson’s Examination Course but also areas included in the test that are specific to real estate brokerage. This 24-hour course runs four to five weeks. Evening classes are offered from 6 pm – 9 pm and morning classes are offered 9 am – 12 noon.