Last updated: 9/28/20
RECENT NEWS & UPDATES
Phase 3 has been extended to October 28th.
CT, MA and NY Place RI on Travel Advisory Lists Once Again
New York, Connecticut and New Jersey have placed Rhode Island on their travel advisory list, due to the Ocean State’s increase in COVID-19 cases. The three states join Massachusetts, which restricted travel from Rhode Island since August.
The advisory requires individuals who are traveling from Rhode Island to New York, New Jersey, Connecticut or Massachusetts to quarantine for 14 days upon entering the state.
Reminder: People traveling from RI to MA must fill out a “Massachusetts Travel Form” and quarantine for 14 days unless they can produce a negative coronavirus test result administered no more than 72 hours prior to arriving in Massachusetts. Individuals who get a test must remain in quarantine until they receive their negative test results. Exceptions include traveling to work in a fixed office and transitory activities like grocery shopping, etc. Those who do not comply with the new MA travel order are subject to a $500 per day fine.
Restore RI Grant Program to Expand to Sole Proprietors, Larger Companies
The Restore RI grant program will be expanded to help both smaller and larger companies and will begin accepting applications from sole proprietors on September 22nd, as well as companies with up to 50 employees. The grant program, which launched in early August, was originally limited to businesses with one to 20 workers. Find more information here.
The Division of Taxation now allows Non-Resident Election of Gain forms to be filed electronically due to COVID-19. Sellers who are non-resident of Rhode Island normally must have funds withheld at closing to cover potential taxes. Filing an Election of Gain avoids that process.
See more information here.
Please be advised, the State of Rhode Island is currently performing random spot audits of open houses to ensure they are being held in compliance with the Rhode Island Phase III Guidelines. THOSE WHO DON’T COMPLY ARE IN VIOLATION OF STATE LAW AND CAN BE FINED AND/OR NAMED PUBLICLY as other businesses have been. Also be aware that Governor Raimondo has encouraged the public to report infractions.
Please review the guidelines as they relate to physical space occupancy limits, business processes, screening procedures, enhanced cleaning and more in order to retain our ability to host open houses. Also, please find resources such as screening templates, signage, etc. under General Office Guidance on CommerceRI.com. (Scroll to the bottom of the CommerceRI web page to see resources.)
Also, please note that Phase 3 of Rhode Island’s reopening has been extended to September 28, 2020. See Governor Raimondo’s Executive Order here. Properties with a quarantined individual in the property are not available for any type of in-person showing.
MLS Customers should also:
- Use the Open House Comments section to spell out the “rules” regarding their open houses and;
- Cooperating Brokers should LOOK for the Open House comments BEFORE sending their customers to an Open House to make sure they understand the rules of the open house.
Phase 3 of Rhode Island’s reopening has been extended to September 28, 2020. See Governor Raimondo’s Executive Order here.
RI Housing has launched a $2 million program for homeowners affected by COVID-19 who are struggling to make their mortgage payments. Eligible homeowners can obtain a five-year, no-interest, forgivable loan that will cover up to six months of mortgage payments. First -come, first-served. Visit www.rihousing.com/HHFRI for more information.
Is your tenant behind on rent? As of August 6, 2020, the Rhode Island District Court requires a Safe Harbor Housing Program flyer to be included with a Five-Day Demand Notice for Non-Payment of Rent. The Safe Harbor Housing program provides rental assistance to landlords who are renting to low to moderate-income tenants who are at risk of eviction because they cannot pay their rent due to a COVID-19 related financial hardship. See more information here.
In effect as of Sunday, August 9th: Those coming to stay at a Rhode Island hotel or rental from one of the states with a positivity rate of 5% or more, must sign a certificate of compliance verifying that they will quarantine for 14 days unless they show evidence of a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of arriving in RI. Those who do not do so will be asked to leave the state.
The Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission voted last week to extend an order that electric and gas service cannot be shut off or sent to a collection agency. The PUC’s order extends the moratorium on shutoffs for all National Grid residential customers until September 30, 2020.
The Public Utilities Commission order also extends the moratorium on service terminations for nonpayment for National Grid customers enrolled in the electric or gas low income rate through November 1, 2020. November 1 is also the start of the winter moratorium, meaning that this order protects certain low-income Rhode Islanders from service termination until April 15, 2021.
See the latest real estate/tenant transaction guidelines on the RI Dept. of Business Regulation’s website.
Information REALTORS® need to know:
This page and the links below will be continually updated as information becomes available.
- Phase 3 Reopening Guidance from Commerce RI
- RIAR/MLS Office/Staffing/Event & Class Cancellations
- Real Estate Specific Updates: Federal, State and Municipal Resources
- Assistance for Small Businesses – PPP,etc.
- COVID-19 FAQs for REALTORS
- Unemployment Benefits FAQs for REALTORS
- COVID-19 Amendment to the Purchase and Sales Agreement Revised 4/7/
- RI REALTORS Recorded Virtual Town Hall Webinars: Timely topics covered by industry experts.